I Need Therapy

Or join a bookaholics anonyamous. I have to hide my latest acquisitions from my husband because he thinks I am crazy. I went to Half Price books yesterday. I had some time to kill, there was a few books I was wanting to get.

30 minutes later, I have nine books and am sixty dollars poorer. I have no idea how it happened.

Well, I lied. I know exactly how it happened. My friend recommended a fantasy series (it is my escape so it’s all I ever read these days) and lo and behold, they have the whole gosh darn set happily sitting on their shelves just waiting for me to pick them up. It was like it was meant to be. So into the basket they go. Then I was in the business section and found yet another two books I have been wanting to read. So those went into the basket as well.

Back to the fantasy/ sci-fi section, by this time, my internal wallet/ spending too much money on books alarm system should be going off by now. No ringing. So I found another book a new fantasy series (I am telling you, those fantasy series will kill me everytime) by a favorite author and into the basket it went.

By this time, it is not physically possible for me to fit anymore into my basket. Which is when I went “oh, I guess I have enough for now”. The bill is a whooping $62. I had been in there less than 30 minutes. What the  hell.

So in thirty minutes, I bought:

The entire Terry Goodkind Sword of Truth Series – he is kind of a mesh of Lord of the Rings and Wheel of Time but his character development is so flawless, I forgive him. His first three books is easily his best in my opinion but I hear it gets worst from here on out. However, when I start a series I feel obligated to finish it. Honestly, I think writers of fantasy series should know when enough is enough. It is like art. A good artist knows when it’s too much.

Then I picked up Robin Hobb’s latest “Dragon Keeper” which I have yet to start but her other series have proven to be very enjoyable so I trust I shall not be disappointed.

After reading Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point, I had to get my hands on Outliners.

There is something about learning about success and business that thrills me. I am thankful I am still in my twenties where the realm of “what-ifs” and possibilities are still plentiful and a girl can still dream.

And lastly (for this trip anyway), I picked up The Millionaire Next Door which I am determine to be. If I become a stay-at-home mom I swear I will shoot myself. (Just watch. I will be a stay-at-home mom *rolls eyes*)

I study the secrets of the wealthy just like I study the secrets of the happily married; like there is some sort of code to it all.

What have you been reading/ are reading lately? I cannot (yet) run out and buy it (I am waiting for my husband to recover from shock). However, I am always on the lookout for new reads

 I am signing off early today as I am going to Austin for the weekend. (Theives, don’t even think about breaking in. Arden the Beagle will bite you and my hubby is liable to smash your face in. You have had fair warning now!)

 

Book pictures from Amazon (doh!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged .

5 comments on “I Need Therapy

  1. Stacy Marie says:

    I’m reading “The Slide” by Kyle Beachy…its almost like a modern “the Graduate,” but it all takes place in St. Louis which is fun for me since I pretty much live there on the weekends..

    Are you a Chronicles of Narnia fan? Those are great fantasy/smidge of sci-fi books. Have you read any Orson Scott Card? Ender’s Game has the BEST ending out of any book I have ever read and there are tons of companion books so the story just keeps going.

    • Jesselyn says:

      I read Narnia when I was 10 and several times since. I love those books. The humor is awesome and I have only grown to appreciate it more as I grew older.
      Ender’s Game is also really good though I never read any of the companion books because I was told it was just not worth it.

  2. Jamilyn says:

    I was just over on Good Bones Great Pieces blog and saw your comment and thought I would stop by for a visit! {love those two by the way}

    I know, it is hard to not spend and spend on books. There is something satisfying about bringing them home and putting them on your shelves! Addicting. Great choices! Will have to check some of them out.

    My daughter just started her own book review blog on young adult books. I think it is right up your alley since she loves to read and has collected and read over 450 books! Yes, and they all are her shelves and we ended up buying all of them. Expensive to say the least! Spread out over time helps! I would like to invite you to check out her blog, Book Jacket at http://olivebookjacket.blogspot.com. If you would rather, you can visit my blog, Living It At Home, and click her book review blog on my side bar.

    Thanks!

  3. Mrs T says:

    Can I join you at the BAA meeting?

  4. Ms. Yap says:

    Heh. The best thing about this, I get to borrow these books after you are done. It’s having a mini library I can go to. And no late fees :p

Leave a Reply

